Moleküle Statt Pixel

I have mentioned my love for Monochrom.de, and now my order has arrived: lovingly packaged …

  • Lots and lots of Ilford FP4+ 125 120!
  • Lots and lots of Rollei Retro 400 35mm!
  • Lots and lots of Rollei Retro 100 120!
  • Storage files for my 120 film!

Serious. Try getting hold of any of this stuff outside the ‘mainstream’ developed world, and you will learn a few things about a cushy existence.

Anyway: that, and my Leica MP is coming today!

Oh, and — the first set of negs is out of the Canon A-1, using my hybrid exposure meter: an eyeballed blend of Sunny 16 and wild guess.

I used Ilford HP5 400 35mm, developed in Ilford HC 1+31 22.5˚ (which is ambient) for 5 minutes, stopped with a 1+4 spirit vinegar/distilled water solution, and fixed in Ilford Rapid Fixer for 10 minutes.

Considering that I have adhered to no discernible rule (except developer first, then fixer), the results have been surprisingly good. I will of course post them here as soon as I get round to scanning them.

And on a related, note, Tina has developed her first film in the same tank; also an Ilford HP5 400 out of her old ‘found under a park bench’ Minox. Also pretty good results, and I suppose proof that a very basic camera is still capable of nice photography.

About lidlesseye

Mouthing off about photography, and occasionally important things too.

Posted on November 7, 2007, in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

