Leica Use and Abuse

My Leica outfit has grown, to an extent where I’m comfortable calling it an “outfit”, or, possibly, and “arsenal”.

Here’s what’s there:

Bodies

  • MP Classic (black)
  • M6 (chrome)
  • IIIc
  • Zorki 4

Lenses

  • Summicron-M 90/2
  • Leitz Elmar 90/4
  • Summicron-M 50/2 (Part of the “classic” set; modern lens with retro styling)
  • Elmar-M 50/2.8 Collapsible
  • Leitz Summitar 50/2 (M-39)
  • Jupiter-8 50/2 (M-39; USSR Zeiss Sonnar clone)
  • Voigtländer Nokton Classic 35/1.4

Both of the M-bodies have been ‘anonymised’ by the use of black cloth tape, giving both of them a faintly ‘beater’ vibe. The M6 is currently on the end of a cheap-ass wrist-strap in the interests of keeping it easily ‘streetable’.

The IIIc was obtained in Windhoek for a modest outlay, CLA’d for a reasonable price, and now finds itself in good working order, taking darn nice pictures.

The Zorki 4 was a gift from a friend, and it will one day be used in some capacity; though I have to say that the ergonomics and haptics suck with that camera. The lens, the Jupiter-8, is another kettle of fish, and I look forward to using it on a real Leica for some comparisons.


I’d like to get hold of a wide, or a superwide. I’ve been looking at the Zeiss C-Biogon 21/4.5 and the Voigtländer SW-Heliar 15/4.5, even to the extent of shooting a few frames, but part of me wants the Leica Super-Elmar-M 18/3.8 ASPH.

Maybe when I buy my M9. 🙂


For now, I’m happy, and I wouldn’t change anything; for each main focal length I’ve got at least one ‘crisp’ lens, and one or more oddballs. My mainline shooter is generally the M6, usually with the Elmar-M 50/2.8. While the viewfinder in the MP is far better, I’ve become lazy and I like the light meter in the M6.

That said, I feel a hardline week of discipline coming on, where I shall use the 50mm ‘cron and nothing else.

About lidlesseye

Mouthing off about photography, and occasionally important things too.

Posted on January 13, 2010, in leica, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

