Picture of the Day: Deer

Deer

A short while ago, it was foggy throughout the day. Meanwhile, sort of on impulse, I had purchased a used, slightly battered-looking but otherwise functional Nikon F5. So I stuck on a borrowed 105mm macro, loaded up some Rollei Retro 400S (about which I’ll write more later), set the ISO at 320 and went for a walk in the afternoon.

The atmosphere was phenomenal, but hard to do justice to in 35mm – next time it’s foggy, I’ll head out with the Hasselblad or the Toyo. Visibility was perhaps 100 metres.

One of the people in my village keeps a herd of deer on a pasture at the edge of the village. I hadn’t expected to see the deer, but as I approached the gate to the enclosure, they wandered up to investigate. The stag kept his distance, and proved impossible to photohgraph, but one of the females walked right up to me to investigate, and kindly posed for the above portrait. It’s a little motion-blurry, as exposure was 1/8th at f/2.8 and the VR doesn’t work with the F5; I’d not have had this problem with the Leica, I think. But the photo is expressive enough. I like it.

Process notes: Rollei Retro 400S Exposed at 320, processed for 25 minutes at 18°C in 1+50 Rodinal. Printed on Adox MC110RC paper using a split-grade technique. Scanned and cleaned up in Photoshop, including final tone curve adjustment for the screen and a 20% sepia filter to warm it up a little.

About lidlesseye

Mouthing off about photography, and occasionally important things too.

Posted on November 25, 2011, in Photography, Picture of the Day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

