Buy my book!

In the late spring of 2010, my cousin and I took a sudden road trip across Germany and France, to collect some stranded friends of my aunt’s in Barcelona. They were stranded because of the eruption of Eyafjallajökull.

Our route took us past Carcassonne – a place I’d heard about, but not until then visited. I’d brought along my Rolleiflex 2.8F and a couple of rolls of Kodak Tri-X, and so we spent a few hours wandering the alleys and the walls, taking pictures and admiring the place.

And when I looked through my photos after I’d developed them, it struck me how well they resonated with Lord Dunsany’s rather sad tale of the same name, about a band of knights questing for the fabled city of Carcassonne:

Travellers had seen it sometimes like a clear dream, with the sun glittering on its citadel upon a far-off hilltop, and then the clouds had come or a sudden mist; no one had seen it long or come quite close to it; though once there were some men that came very near, and the smoke from the houses blew into their faces, a sudden gust–no more, and these declared that some one was burning cedarwood there.

And so I set to work. The result is available for purchase here:

By Dominic von Stösser

For those who, for whatever reason, are not in a position to purchase my book, and who want a free e-book version (with lower-resolution photographs but in every other way unrestricted), I draw your attention to this link:

Free e-book of Carcassonne by Dominic von Stösser

I assure you, the real-object-in-your-hand version is much, much nicer. Perhaps the freebie will convince you.

Of course, nicer than all that would be a hand-made print on fibre-based baryta paper, which is also available. Contact me for details. The contact form is in German, but I think it ought to be clear enough.

About lidlesseye

Mouthing off about photography, and occasionally important things too.

Posted on March 1, 2012, in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

